Scripps Ranch Schools Committee (SRSC)

More Scripps Ranch Principals Keep A `Changin

Last month we reported that the school board appointed Kurt Madden to be the Scripps Ranch High School principal and that former principal Donna Campbell was promoted to high school improvement officer. Then in August the school board appointed Kim Lochtefeld to be the principal of Dingeman Elementary School without any notice to the community. Existing principal, Jerrilee Fischer-Garza, was moved to Lafayette Elementary School in the Clairemont Mesa area. Ms. Lochtefeld, a Scripps Ranch resident, used to teach at Dingeman and most recently was the principal at Audobon Elementary School.

The board also filled the vacancy at Jerabek Elementary School--created when principal Tom Liberto accepted a position as a middle school principal--by appointing Paul Gilroy to be principal. Mr. Gilroy is also a Scripps Ranch resident, used to teach at Dingeman, and most recently was the principal at Sunset View Elementary in Point Loma. We wish all of our past and future Scripps Ranch principals--Donna, Tom, Jerrilee, Kim, Paul, and Kurt--good luck and success in their new positions.

Middle School Bus Program Keeps Rolling

For the second year in a row, the Marshall Middle School Parent-Paid Bus Program will continue along the same six routes on three buses and at the same times and pick-up locations. This means that approximately 25% of Marshall's student population will help reduce traffic congestion throughout Scripps Ranch by riding the bus.

As of press time, there were still a few seats available on the pick-up spots at the former Ellen Browning Scripps Elementary School site, Jerabek Elementary School, and on Scripps Trail. The cost is $585 per student for the year, and registration forms are available on the MMS website at [].

Even though the bus program is short a few riders, we are able to continue the program at its current level with grant assistance from the San Diego Foundation's Scripps Ranch Environmental Fund. This source had funds available to help with community traffic mitigation issues as a result of a civil lawsuit settlement obtained by several Scripps Ranch residents related to the development of the Mira Mesa Marketplace. We thank these residents, the San Diego Foundation, and also the SRCA for working together to help the Transportation Subcommittee secure this grant.

Additional thanks go to the SRCA Executive Board, who agreed to provide backstop funding to ensure the continuation of this worthwhile program in the event that the subcommittee was unable to obtain the San Diego Foundation grant. The SRCA's willingness to support the bus program for the benefit of all of Scripps Ranch was instrumental in the subcommittee's ability to keep the program running in its current form. Thank you, SRCA.

Please thank your neighborhood's SRCA Executive Board member for helping support the bus program. The Schools Committee would also like to thank all of the members of the Transportation Subcommittee, including co-chairs Jennifer Madsen and Sharon Greener, for all their efforts to keep this program up and running.

School Bond Measure

In late July the school board approved placing a $2.1 billion school bond measure on the November ballot. This bond would focus primarily on upgrades and repairs at existing schools. The district created a draft campus by campus project list that includes items such as installing air conditioning, renovating restrooms, installing wireless networks in every classroom, and upgrading deteriorating plumbing and sewer systems.

You can review the draft project list on the district's website at []. Once there, select the "07/23/2008 Special Meeting" and then go to the "Staff Report" for that date and look for the pdf file entitled "Site Specific Bond Project Lists."

Next Meeting

The Scripps Ranch Schools Committee meets again on Tuesday, Sept. 16, at 4:30 pm in the Scripps Ranch Library's seminar room. The public is welcome. If you have any questions, please email me at [[email protected]].

Lynn Todd, SRSC Co-chair