SRCA Schools Committee

Marshall Middle School Overcrowding

The Scripps Ranch Civic Association Schools Committee reviewed the problem of overcrowding at Marshall Middle School. It was decided that the best course of action was to recommend that another elementary school become a K-6 school beginning in the fall of 2003.

Dingeman Elementary School became a K-6 school in the fall of 2001. With the help of the teachers and administration at Marshall, Dingeman has developed a successful program for their 6th grade students.

It is anticipated that this program will be duplicated at either Miramar Ranch Elementary School or Jerabek Elementary School beginning next fall. Both Dingeman and the elementary school chosen will remain K-6 schools until the new middle school opens, which is slated for fall 2006.

A community meeting was held in December to disseminate information and obtain feedback from parents concerning the selection of the elementary school. The school district will weigh all the information and make a recommendation to the Board of Education at their meeting on Tuesday, Feb. 4.

This issue also will be discussed at the SRCA meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 14, at 7 pm at the Scripps Ranch Library.

New Middle School Design Task Force

The first meeting of the new middle school Design Task Force was held in December. The educational specification document for district middle schools was distributed and summarized, as well as the challenges that relate to our specific piece of land.

The second meeting will begin the actual design process. The next four meetings are scheduled for:

  • Monday, Jan. 6;
  • Wednesday, Jan 22;
  • Monday, Feb. 3; and,
  • Wednesday, Feb. 19.

All meetings will be in the Marshall Middle School auditorium from 7 to 9 pm. Additional meetings may be scheduled. All residents are welcome, even if you did not attend the first meeting.

Next Meeting

The next meeting of the SRCA Schools Committees will be on Tuesday, Jan. 21, from 4 to 6 pm in the Scripps Ranch Library’s seminar room.

Joyce Berzle and Denise Ouellette, Co-chairs