Pack 614 Cubs Graduate!

Our Blue and Gold Dinner was held at the Stanley Steemer offices. A big thank you to Stanley Steemer for letting us use their banquet room. Fifteen of our Webelos 2 scouts graduated from Cub Scouts: Marwan Harb, Kevin Londerholm, Derek Ma, Nikolas Marino, Brendan Mitchell, Derek Podimatis, and Brent Rossin from Den 1. The leaders are Sue Londerholm and Nancy Mitchell.

Darren Critchlow, Evan Critchlow, Kevin Dixon, Steven Ilko, Kyle Luvisa, Ryan Smurlo, Brett Snow, and Jack Winters graduated from Den 3. Their leaders are Diana Snow and Janet Ilko.

The scouts bridged over to Boy Scouts


with the help of Layne Rasmussen, assistant scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 616 and Charles James, scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 663. Congratulations! A big thank you to our outgoing volunteers, Nancy Mitchell, Kathy Ma, Diana Snow, and Loren Mitchell.

The theme of our March pack meeting was "Walk In My Shoes." Our scoutmaster, Joe Fleming, talked about diversity and sensitivity to other people's differences--cultural, physical, and situational. The boys learned a lot.

Good luck to Cameron Dechant, our first place Pinewood Derby winner, as he represents our pack at the Scout Fair at Qualcomm on Saturday, Apr. 24.

Pack 616--Off to the Races!

The 92 cubs of Pack 616 and their families each started with a block of wood, nails, and four plastic wheels. The resulting wonderful cars they made out of these materials never cease to amaze us! Congratulations to the cubs, and thanks to the parents for helping!

The four fastest cars in the pack belonged to Jonathan Parada, Daniel Weiner, Brandon Mitchel, and Mitchell Ingles. Best wishes to Jonathan as he takes his car to the councilwide "San Diego 500" race this month! Rounding out the pack's "Top 20" were Zach Totah, Shane Mitchel, Kyle Fisher, Kevin Graham, Ryan Babick, Blake Wurtzler, Conner Dyte, Daniel Peters, Jake Vildibill, Alec Mathews, Matthew Huckleberry, Troy Aylwin, J. Q. Goodrich, Rafael Rendon, Vivek Vishwanath, and Thomas Amling.

The coveted awards for "Best In Show" went to Ryan Madsen and Shane Mitchel for their sleek cars. The "Most Unique Design" awards went to Daniel Peters for his incredible submarine car and to Garrett Solberg for his "Road Warrior"--complete with black skull, red stand-up haircut, and green spikes! Thank you to our judges: Mark DeFede, Don Mouridian, and Todd Whitman.

Finally, we owe a huge debt of gratitude to our "Pinewood Derby Queen" of the last three years, Kelly Peters. Kelly brought our derby into the 21st century and has produced an incredibly smooth system. To her and her committee of volunteer parents, we say "thank you!"

And They're Off!

Pack 1216 Cub Scouts had a fantastic time at the Pinewood Derby. They proudly raced their cars and cheered each other on during the races. A big thank you to all the parent volunteers who helped out: Louis and Kristine Weiner, boy scout assistant Matthew Weiner, the Stephens' family, and the many other parents who made the day run so smoothly. Medal winners are:

  • Tigers--1st (tie), Chris Ross, Arthur Bacon, and Parker Scoffin;
  • Wolfs--1st, Jake Todd; 2nd, Ben Nelson; and, 3rd, Eric Hildebrandt;
  • Bears--1st, Andrew Corvin; and, 2nd (tie), Patrick Barnsley, Billy Feather, and Conner Scoffin;
  • Webelos I--1st, Hans Hildebrandt; and, 2nd (tie), Noah Hawley and Hunter Young; and,
  • Webelos II--1st, Michael Rogers; 2nd, Nick Altieri; and, 3rd, Andrew Bunnell.

The top three finalists are: 1st, Michael Rogers; 2nd, Jake Todd; and, 3rd, Ben Nelson. Michael Rogers will race his car again at the upcoming Scout Fair.

In March our Webelos celebrated their Arrow of Light. Congratulations to scouts Andy Bunnell, Connor Emmert, Deryl Lam, Nick Altieri, Alex Ranum, Andrew Griffin, Jake Ouellette, Phillip Glass, Michael Rogers, Richard Rattner, Adam Richardson, Dan Drago, and Jared Wassenaar. And special thanks to their den leaders, Valerie and Steve Ranum.

Let It Snow

This past month we planned one of the favorite activities that boy scouts do with their families--Troop 616 went snowboarding and skiing at Snow Summit! The trip was three hours long, so we thank all the parents who helped drive us up there. Once there, the scouts headed out to earn a few of the requirements for the Snow Sports merit badge.

The other important event this past month was the annual election to the Order of the Arrow, the honors society of Boy Scouting. The scouts elected to the Order in our troop are Alex Glavis-Bloom, Russell Greenfield, Brian Gurriell, Matt Heuss, Ronnie Lewis, Steven Lewis, Sam Moreau, Josh Ouellette, and Matt Wimmer. Congratulations!

Russell Greenfield, Troop Scribe

Brownies Deliver Hearts and Smiles

For Valentine's Day, Scripps Ranch Brownie Troop 8333 made 100 valentines and delivered them, along with boxes of chocolates, to residents at the Remington Club Senior Living Community in Rancho Bernardo. Many residents expressed that the visit was the highlight of their month.

Coincidentally, one of the last residents the girls met was Miss Ceil, a girl scout leader for 12 years in New York in the 1920s. She was part of Troop 8.